Ridiculous: The EU’s countries safe to let in list

European Union

As the World Health Organization Director General Dr Tedros Adhanom Ghebreyesus warned the worst of the coronavirus pandemic was “yet to come”, the European Union named 14 countries from outside the bloc whose citizens are deemed “safe” to be let in from 1 July.

People from Algeria, Australia, Canada, Georgia, Japan, Montenegro, Morocco, New Zealand, Rwanda, Serbia, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia and Uruguay are all allowed to enter the European Union from the beginning of next month.

This is a compromised list – which can and will be added to – as Greece and Portugal, anxious to boost their dying economies, wanted as many countries as possible to be allowed in. France insisted on reciprocity. If a non-EU country was barring flights from the EU they should not be allowed to be let in. Germany and Spain were far more cautious and pushed to have a short list of countries with low infection rates, a good health service and reliable health data.

China will be added to the “safe list” if Beijing agrees to a reciprocal travel deal for EU citizens.

The US, Brazil, Russia and India are not on the “safe list” due to the high rates of incidences of coronavirus.

To add to the nonsense, the list is not binding on any EU country. It is only an advisory list and each European Union country can let in any non-EU country it chooses.

Greece then announced it was suspending all direct flights from the UK and Sweden until 15 July because of the data on the state of the coronavirus pandemic in both countries. UK nationals are still treated as Europan Union citizens until the end of the Brexit transition period on 31 December.

The UK is about to launch its air bridge list of more than 50 countries from 6 July where British holidaymakers will avoid having to self-isolate for 14 days on their return. Greece, France and Spain was named by Boris Johnson’s Government last Friday.

Related posts